The Education Problem

2024/09/19


The biggest problem with education is the whole attitude towards it. There’s this mentality that’s pushed on people that you can be “good” or “bad”. That you need to try hard and get good grades. That a low grade is “bad”. That if you aren’t understanding something it’s your fault - you’re not spending enough time or effort! You need to do more homework! School should be your number one priority!

People will constantly dismiss things I’m proud of because they’re “not good enough”. I’ll be proud of a grade I got in school and then people will say that it sucks because theirs was higher. I’ll ask questions and be teased for not knowing things that were “obvious” because I should’ve already known them.

And at the same time, they say that you’re supposed to enjoy learning - that it should be fun and rewarding. How is this supposed to be enjoyable?

How am I supposed to enjoy getting up at a time that is scientifically proven to be way too early every day? How am I supposed to enjoy learning all about these things that could be fun but instead it’s just doing a bunch of impractical hypothetical oversimplified questions that have no real world use? How am I supposed to enjoy this constant pressure put on me that I need to put in enough effort or else I’ll “fail”? How am I supposed to enjoy these teachers infantilising us, acting like they’re superior simply because they know more about their subject? How am I supposed to enjoy going home exhausted and immediately having to do homework?

How am I supposed to enjoy learning when the whole school system isn’t about learning but rather having learnt?

Back